Crafty Gals Blog Group – September 2012 Challenge

The 5th of the month means another Crafty Gals Blog Group challenge. The Crafty Gals are a group of 11 of us on SplitCoast Stampers that chat together and encourage each others crafty endeavors with supportive comments on each others blog. Each month, another member of our group hosts a challenge that we all play in.

This month it was Jeanette’s turn. Here challenge was to “Get Punchy”. Her challenge had a “simple” and an “advanced” version. The simple version was to use punches. The advanced challenge was to make some punch art, in other words, use punches to make something other than what it was intended to be.

I’ve been so busy that there were moments I thought I might bail on the Crafty Gals this month. But, I knew that was not very good of me, so then I thought I’d just do the simple version…but again, taking the simple way out is not my way! So off to the internet I went to find some neat (but not overly complicated) punch art. I ended up finding this punch art pumpkin and decided to use it.

I felt I needed some extra inspiration this week, so the sketch is also from this week’s Mojo Monday.

Please visit my other Crafty Gals to see what they made. Their blogs are linked on my sidebar to the right —–>

And, come again another day to see what else I created (maybe I’ll even have some more punch art for you!).

100 Card Challenge: 84/100

11 thoughts on “Crafty Gals Blog Group – September 2012 Challenge

  1. Heather, this card is GORGEOUS! I love that pumpkin… such a clever way to use punches, isn’t it? And your layout is so pretty!

    Thank you for getting PUNCHy with me this month! (I’m so glad you didn’t bail.)

  2. “I absolutely love creative punch art! (Have you seen my Pinterest Punch Art Board?) I know not everyone loves punch art, but I do. I also know that a lot of us don’t have many punches. Therefore I’m not going to make this challenge too difficult. The Simple Plan: Make a card using a punch somewhere on it. Easy Peasy! The Advanced Plan: Make a card where you use punches to make something they were not originally intended for. For example: Use oval punches to make a frog, use circle punches to make a snowman, use the stocking punch to make a stick horse, use a heart punch to make a Christmas tree, use a variety of punches to make a chef or witch or elephant, etc.” When I read her challenge I immediately thought of Sesame Street characters. I have seen some really creative cards made with punches so I thought I would try it. My three year-old daughter loves Elmo, so I decided to make an Elmo card. I do plan to make Big Bird and Cookie Monster soon to send to Operation Write Home. I hope you like my card and that it makes you smile.

Leave a comment