Dare to Get Dirty 2017 – Post 1

It is the week of the Dare to Get Dirty Challenges over at SplitCoast Stampers. This is a week of challenges for members of the Fan Club, which is a paid subscription. SCS has been my crafting community of choice for a number of years now, so it’s not too hard to justify the subscription cost and then I get to play along too!

There are five challenges posted per day for seven days. Because challenges are for subscribers, I can’t give you the specific details of the challenge…but, I can share my creations!

I noticed that there are quite a number of challenges involving watercoloring or unique background techniques this year. Sometimes I have an idea in mind what I’m after and sometimes the card just results from the what appears in the background. That’s what happened with this one!

Scraps sitting on my desk made the perfect choice for this challenge! This card uses the Prickley Pear Rubber Stamps Build a Cupcake” image and matching dies. I also included Prickley Pear’s Scalloped Oval and my (fairly new) Memory Box Bubble Arch. Such dainty lines on this one! Hard to get it perfectly straight.

This card is Riley & CompanyThe Moosehatter” with the sentiment “Fine Line“. Love how the googly eyes added to this! The sketch comes from the Sunday Stamps challenge #158 (with some liberty to get my sentiment onto it!).

I got a kick out of the fact that every time I adjusted the card, the eyes looked at me slightly differently. Tee hee!

Next up is this cheery card with Prickley Pear Rubber StampsPetunia” image on the background and the sentiment “A Heartfelt Thanks“.

This one was fun! To fulfill the requirements of this challenge, I chose to try the Cling Wrap Background technique in the tutorial section. I think the best thing about this was figuring out which colors to use!! And, it turned out great. Once again, I’ve gone to Prickley Pear for my stamps, using Oak and Maple Leave, with the matching dies. I’ve been dying for the right project to use this great set!

Last one for this post is this card, which I can tell you was for a Tic-Tac-Toe challenge. Claire and I sat outside and watercolored for a bit. She made some beautiful backgrounds while I worked on this cute image using “Polkadot House” from Riley & Company. The sentiment, also Riley & Company, is called “Home“.

DTGD Count: 6/35

Leave a Reply

