Mystery Image Swap – January 2017

Hello, hello! Welcome back to another year of Mystery Image swapping.

This is a group I’m in from SplitCoast Stampers. I think this is my third year with this particular group and it’s always such fun! The group gets sent an image every month from one other member. We create a card with it, post it for the group to see and then send it to one person in the group. It’s fun to see what everyone comes up with.

As usual, Imke kicks us of for the year. Her image choice is Avery Elle “Tweet Tweet”.

I always have so much difficulty with large images because I like to apply other elements to the card and I find that hard to do with a single image that covers most of the card. This time, I was determined to work my way around that challenge.

I ended up cutting out several circles from the image and then relayering them onto the front. This allowed me to display the image without sharp corners, or fussy cutting the entire image. I tried to used bright tropical colors and I’m quite happy with the way it turned out.

We are usually sent two images in our envelope “just in case”. Initially, I had colored the other image because I thought I might need it to achieve the effect I wanted. When that wasn’t the case, I decided to create another card with the image.

This card uses the sketch over at Sketch Saturday (#446). Thanks for the inspiration, Sketch Saturday team!

I’m glad to have the Mystery Image swap back for another year. Check back towards the end of February for the next image, chosen by Sue.

One response to “Mystery Image Swap – January 2017

  1. What a fun swap! I love your bright, beautiful coloring of the image. The first cards design is so wonderfully unique. Thanks for playing along with us at Sketch Saturday!

Leave a Reply

