A Year in Review – 2016

As I started this post for the year, I reread what I wrote last year. Last year, I was filled with excitement over getting this post up and moving on to you resolutions for the new year. This year, I’m actually not sure what I’m going to “resolve”, so perhaps I wish 2017 would delay itself just a few days.

But, that’s not going to happen. So, let’s get on with my 2016 review and hope that I find inspiration for 2017 along the way.

This is Year in Review #6. My Year in Review is always my final post of the year and I look back at my favorite cards posted throughout the year. One for each month, no exceptions!

Here’s the highlights…

January 2016: It seems like the last two years have started out with loss. So, for the 2nd year I open my Year in Review with a celebration of those who are missed in our life.

February 2016: Peace, Love, Groovy. How else could I sum up this year? The Crafter’s Cafe Challenge Blog has been a great opportunity to work with many different stamp companies. This one was one of my favs this year!

March 2016: I love my design team work and 2016 gave me the opportunity to work with Two Paper Divas. It was such an honor to work with this great company.

April 2016: I think I started the Unidentified Image Swap the year Claire was born. Almost five years now! Hard to believe.

May 2016: I love the bright colors in this creation!

June 2016: Summer’s coming! Might as well celebrate with ice cream.

July 2016: Calendars and Riley the Moose. Two of my favorite things to craft! This four season calendar is ready for 2017 and I can’t wait to use it!

August 2016: I had a fantastic opportunity to join the Prickley Pear Rubber Stamps Design Team this year. Love playing with their fantastic images and this as the first watercolor background I made, starting a fascination with watercolouring that will continue into 2017!

September 2016: My Mystery Image Swap group continued for another year. Love this group of ladies and the wonderful creations they make.

October 2016: Love this pretty Verve card I made for the Falliday Fest challenges at Splitcoast Stampers.

November 2016: The Growing in Unity Girl with Unity Stamps was another highlight of the year! And, I’ll be back as the GIU girl next year too!

December 2016: Steampunk meets Heather. Sometimes you have to put your own flair on a new style.

Definitely some great creations this year. Part two of my Year in Review post looks back at my my craft resolutions for the year. How did I fare in 2016?

1. Don’t put off Christmas: I am hereby rejoining the 2016 Christmas Card Challenge at SCS and getting those cards done up well before the holiday season. Oh boy. My review is not off to a good start. I actually did a better job at filling up my Christmas card box this year. But….I didn’t send a SINGLE card! And you know what, I don’t really feel that guilty  about it either. But, I consider it a start on my 2017 cards because I will get them out next year. Promise.

2. Beat my 2015 post count of 100. Well, I added them all up and this final 2016 post is…..181!!! Can you believe it? Wow. That’s going to be hard to beat in 2017.

3. Create a personal project. Exact project unknown at time of resolution. So, shortly after writing this resolution, I followed it up with this blog post. Part 2 and 3 of my jar were a complete failure. But, Part 1 actually worked out quite well. I had planned to send out one card for every week. I made it to October and then life got in the way. I may still get those final cards out, but I’m pretty happy that I made it as a far into the year that I did. The jar will return in 2017, in some way.

4. Dig Out the Birthday List. Let’s not even talk about this one.

Sometimes what you write down on paper seems like the right thing at the time. Looking back, it appears that I wasn’t as successful as I wanted to be. But you know what? 2016 was a GREAT year! 180 posts…Riley Design Team, Two Paper Divas, Prickley Pear…my unidentified image girls, mystery image girls, Growing in Unity week. So much creating, so much to be proud of.

Onward to 2017…thanks for sticking with me.

One response to “A Year in Review – 2016

  1. I love all of the cards you posted, but especially June! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

