HYCCT, Post #4

I’m doing a pretty good job of getting these challenges done! I suppose a few of you wonder where on earth I find the time to do all of these, but I usually sit down in the evening after the toddler’s in bed. Many nights, I’m too tired to sit at the craft desk, but I try to surf a bit and think about the challenges, come up with a plan so that when I do find the time to sit down, I’m ready to go! The baby does like his attention in the evenings too, but he’s goes through periods of exploration and cuddles. Gives me a bit of time to play!

Anyway, on two particularly successful nights, I managed to get six cards done!

This challenge was to use a sugary sweet image “to help the medicine go down”. I found this stamp that has never been used. I debated using the accompanying images, but in the end I liked the fit of this Riley & Company sentiment better. This card was also the Viva la Verve sketch week 2 for October.

Next up was to make a card inspired by your hero. This was hard for me, as I’m not really sure who I consider my “hero”. While going through a list of names of people I admired, I noted many of them were women. So, this card was for the”girls” in my life that I admire and look up to.

Next challenge was for an uplifting card with a funny image or sentiment. Straight to my Riley & Company challenge for this one!

Next up was the challenge titled “something missing”, which inspired us to use our creativity and make a card with something missing. There were lots of fabulous samples for this challenge – spots of color missing, a hat off of a snowman trio, missing leaves on a tree, etc. I went with “missing” color and did a black and white card…not a stitch of color in this one!

This challenge was called “chicks stick together” and was meant to celebrate friendship. I love how this card turned out!

And that last card I got done was to use warm colors and something fuzzy. The warm colors was easy, but I went through my stamp drawers several times trying to figure out the perfect “fuzzy” image. It’s getting colder here, so I decided to honor my fuzzy warm socks!

Today Claire wasn’t around the house, so I reserved some time for a bit of crafting. I decided today was “messy day”, dedicated to the technique challenges that have popped up. They didn’t take nearly as long as I thought, but now I have to make full cards with all the pieces.

Here’s the run down:

– 16 cards done

-parts of 4 more done

– 11 more posted challenges to complete

– 4 more challenges to be posted.

– 9 more evenings before the HYCCT entry deadline.

Can I get them all done?

Leave a Reply

