HYCCT 2014, Post #2

I’m back with another three creations from the Hope You Can Cling To challenges over at SplitCoast Stampers. These ones were fun! And, I’m quite happy with the cards.

This first challenge was to use an image of something with a handle. I muddled this over for a bit and then chose this SU Espress Yourself set and a little “pick me up” card. Again, I used a challenge sketch for this card, from Sketch N Stas.

The next challenge was so much fun! The challenge was to “hold it together” without your usual resources – aka, your adhesive. You weren’t allowed to do a one layer card, but had to find ways to “stick” everything together in other ways…stitching, brads, staples, etc.  At first, it was a bit scary to contemplate. But then I found this sketch over at Nacho Challenge and was inspired! Here is my creation.

The blue piece has been stitched on with bakers twine and my hole puncher. The flags are attached by brads, as are the flowers. Not a single strip of adhesive on this baby! 🙂

And, the last challenge was to “strip down” and use your leftover papers to make your project background. I have a ton of scraps, so this challenge was kind of exciting. And, I love the quilting technique and haven’t done it in awhile. I also didn’t do my usual straight layers, but overlapped the pieces a bit.

This card used the color combination posted over at colourQ this week. I suppose the combination was supposed to be more of a Halloween inspired combo, but I went with a birthday card instead.

Well, today’s the 16th of October. 18 challenges posted, six down. Gotta get working on a bit more!

7 responses to “HYCCT 2014, Post #2

  1. What a sweet trio of cards! I love them all, your coffee break card is just so cute and your patchwork birthday card is just adorable with that sweet cupcake. Thank you so much for playing along with us at ColourQ, hope to see you again next week.

  2. These are such great cards. The challenges really would make me have to think outside the box so kudos to you and your designs. Thanks for including the colourQ!

  3. very nice job with the Nacho sketch! I really like those cute little flowers! and the brad in the middle is perfect!

  4. Lovely cards! Great use of the NAC sketch. Thanks for joining us at Nacho Average Challenges!

  5. Fun birthday card, Heather, thanks for playing with us at the colourQ.

  6. Wow! So creative. Thanks for joining the Nachos this week, great job with our sketch. I love the flowers and brads and really love how you “stitched” using the bakers twine. Hope to see you again soon

  7. Love the color combo on the Nacho sketch. Thanks for playing along with the Nachos!

Leave a Reply

