Inspiration Challenge

This is my first time doing the Inspiration Challenge over at SCS. In this inspiration challenge, they provided the name of an online retailer to find something that inspires you for your card.

I took a quick look through the site and found this:

114094-1_1Weird choice, I know. You were probably expecting something colorful. But, what I saw in this was two things…1, it was masculine and I wanted to make a masculine birthday card. 2, I thought it would work great as a layout sketch.

Here is the card I came up with:

I liked the texture of the book cover, so I found an embossed panel in kraft to use. I used my square punch to make some not quite square panels for the front. The rounded corners on the cover make an appearance and then I finished it off with a quick bow where the author’s name is located.

This is actually my second attempt. My first attempt was not good! The colors weren’t right at all and I just didn’t feel like I could save the thing. 😦

3 responses to “Inspiration Challenge

  1. Excellent job! You’re right the notebook does lead to a nice card layout and you did it beautifully!!

  2. Great job! I think it’s a great take on the inspiration.

  3. Fabulous manly card. I have done the same thing, many times. 🙂

Leave a Reply

