Some Verve-y Goodness!

I wanted to catch up on the August Viva la Verve challenges, but when I wandered over to the Verve forums, I also found out they are having an anni-verve-sary this week, with five challenge to celebrate their fifth birthday….oh, more Verve challenges? Okay, I can handle this!

Claire and I struck a bargain and she played exersaucer while I did the first challenge and then I managed to finish two more during her afternoon nap.

I also need to get back to my 100 card challenges. I’m so behind!! Last I left you we had just finished up Addiction #2, RAK Images. So, I decided to start Addiction #3 with these challenges today…so here we go!

First of all, what is Addiction #3? I’m calling it… DOO-DADS! You know that stuff you can’t leave on the shelf from Micheals…cute rhinestone shapes, jolee’s embellishment stickers, beaded flowers….that stuff. I’ve learned my lesson and try REALLY hard not to get too much of it, but sometimes it just gets the better of me.

Addiction #3: Doo-Dads, Step 1

This card is for the anni-verve-sary day 1 challenge, which was to use pinks, browns and greens (plus neutrals).

My “doo-dads” on this card are those pink and green pearl accents, which I couldn’t pass up from Dollarama. Normally, I don’t do dollar store stuff but every once in awhile there’s something that doesn’t look too bad. These were okay. A little fussy to place on the card, but they look alright once there.

I’m also entering this card in the Shopping Our Stash challenge, which is to try a new technique or revisit an old one. I revisited two techniques that I don’t use very often. One was to sand the embossed background paper. The other was to paper piece the shirt on the little girl. I see this technique used all the time with MFT stamps and just LOVE how it turns out.

Addiction #3: Doo-Dads, Step 2

The second card was also for a anni-verve-sary challenge. This challenge was to use “wood” and “silver”, representing Verve’s 5 years. I used interpretation to make my “wood” time this wood forest or trees. And, the silver is the paper and the “doo-dad”, a beaded flower I received…somewhere.

And, last card is the Week 1 Viva la Verve sketch challenge. No doo-dads on this card, but I did use up some of my leftover scrap paper and had some fun playing with my embossing folders. I love the purple and pink paired with the Always Artichoke paper.

Okay, tomorrow I’ll try to bribe Claire with promises of her favorite Mum-Mums (rice snacks) and get some more challenges done…maybe. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Have fun, everyone!

100 Card Count: 60-62/100

10 responses to “Some Verve-y Goodness!

  1. That adorable paper-pieced shirt is perfect. And thanks for the reminder about sanding embossed card stock. It is easy and looks so great. If only I could remember to do it ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. I like your doo-dad challenge…will have to try one like that myself…I had totally forgotten about paper piecing as a technique…great job on that…might have to whip out a card like that myself this week…Thanks for joining in the forgotten technique challenge at Shopping our Stash this week!

  3. Very cute cards! You are doing great getting cards made with a little one.

  4. Great cards Heather. I LOVE those pearl flowers. About the Michael’s stuff… they are never too many, they are so difficult to leave them there, hunging… but then I think… I have to start using all this stuff eventually!!!… LOL!!!

  5. Amazing how you are able to make such lovely cards with your little one keeping you busy. I can’t believe she’s in a exersaucer already…she’s growing up so fast! Love your doo- dads too…LOL

  6. Sweeet Cards Heather! I am glad Claire cooperated so that you could make this wonderful creations.

  7. WOW! You’ve been busy! I love your cards… each one is gorgeous!

  8. Awesome Cards Heather—you have been very productive lately!

  9. Wonderful cards, Heather. The silver and wood is my favorite !

  10. ohhh great cards! Love that sweet lil girl with the paper piecing! So cute. Thanks for joining us at Shopping Our Stash!

Leave a Reply

