Crafty Gals June Challenge

Check out the Use It Tuesday Design Team Call! Closes Jun 17/12.

*************

Hey everyone, small detour from my Card Kit addiction. As I mentioned at the start of my 100 card challenge, my “regularly scheduled programs”, as I so nicely called them, will count towards my 100 cards, so occasionally my 12-step addictions will be set aside momentarily for other stuff. Let’s face it, 100 cards is a lot. I need all the help I can get, so as if I’m NOT going to count my regular stuff.

This month’s challenge was created by Barb. Here is her challenge to us:

Many of us will be taking a summer trip someplace, if even just for a weekend. So, your challenge is to create a card that shouts summer fun! Shows us an image that highlights a summer experience you have had or are planning to do in the future. Please include some patterned paper on your card, along with an additional embellishment or two. And, share on your blog post a fun experience you have had on a vacation. 

Well, as usual with these challenges, my first response was “Ugh! What am I going to do!?!”. But then I take a few days, wander around the house, think about it while I’m feeding Claire, poke at my paper and stamp stash…and come up with an idea that, in my head, sounds pretty darn cool.

And, once again, my trusty Riley’s to the rescue.

My husband and I both grew up camping with our families and we both have fond memories of our family trips. With Claire here now, everything in life takes on a new perspective as we see her discovering her world for the first time. We’ve had a  few conversations about how we can’t wait to get out and show her camping…..and tents, and trees, lakes, mountains, fires, s’mores…..all of it!!

So my card contemplates those future family trips (she might be a tad young to fully enjoy it this year). Here are baby Claire Moose and Mommy and Daddy Moose in the forest. See their little campfire?

I’m also entering this card in the Riley and Company challenge this week, which is to use both Riley and Sophie on a card.

And, this makes my fifth card posted in a row for my 100 card challenge (yay me!!), This one wasn’t a from a card kit, but hopefully I’ll be back tomorrow with a card kit card for you.

100 Card Count: 5/100

8 responses to “Crafty Gals June Challenge

  1. This is a great year to camp – she is relatively immobile. Next year she will be toddling (and tripping and falling), though crawling is the worst for camping. The downside is if it’s cold at night and you are nursing, getting out of the warm sleeping bag is no fun at all. I camped with both mine as babies.

  2. This is an adorable image, love your card.

  3. Too cute! I love the oval window and the scene you created! Great layout 🙂

  4. Fantastic card complete with the campfire! Great job!

  5. Oh my goodness, that card is too flippin’ cute.

  6. So cute! Great job.

  7. This card is so darn cute–I love the image and the scene is perfect! Thanks for playing along with our challenge and being a part of this wonderful group of ladies!

  8. Diane Clark-Sutton

    Cute card. I love that Riley image.

Leave a Reply

