April Crafty Gals Challenge

Can you believe it’s April already? And that means it’s time for another Crafty Gals Challenge!

The Crafty Gals is my blog group on SplitCoast Stampers. We’re a group of 11 who provide support and encouragement to each other through regular blog visits and some nice conversation and chit chat in the SCS forums. We also do a monthly challenge on the 5th of each month, hosted by a different member of the group each month.

This month Diane hosted the challenge. Her challenge title was “April Showers Bring May Flowers” and here are the details of the challenge:

Since April is supposed to be a rainy month in most of the country, I thought we would try a “water” challenge. My challenge to you is to incorporate water in some way on your card. It can be rain, puddles, ocean, sea, beach, lake, bathtub or anything else you can think of. In addition to the water, I want you to use ribbon, brads and patterned paper on your card.

My first thought was to reach for one of my many (too many) rainy day/umbrella stamps. Yes, I have a slight addiction to them. But then it just seemed too difficult to have to choose between them. And, while I was standing by my stamp shelf trying to decide, I noticed the box of my OTHER addiction (card kits) was a little….um….overflowing? So, I decided to see if there was anything in the box that I could use for the challenge.

I ended up finding three kits that could be used for a “water” theme and decided on a mermaid themed kit. This image is kind of out of the box for me, but I like the way the card turned out.

There are a few things I love about this card. Those fish brads. Cute, no? I love cute shaped brads, but can never find the right place to use them. I like how these ones fit on the card. I also love how I left the mermaids tail slightly elevated to give it some depth and also raised the fish from the back of the card. The use of the oval behind the mermaid was different for me and I ended up applying orange ink to the embossing to try to mimic the coral of the patterned paper.

Thanks for stopping by. If you’re not busy, check out the Craft Gals Blog list on the right hand side of my blog and check out the other projects for the month.

Take care!

Don’t ask me how long I’ve had this kit. Your guess is as good as mine!!

7 responses to “April Crafty Gals Challenge

  1. Very, very cute! That mermaid is adorable & I’m lovin’ the fish brads….talk about going with the theme!!!! Excellent, excellent work Heather & TFS!!!

  2. This is so cute! I love the little fishy brads and embossed oval! Great card 🙂

  3. Heather–what a sweet card–I love all of the colors. Cute brads–you ricked this challenge!

  4. Heather, this is such a cute card!!!. I love how you used the papers, the coral up and the water down!!!, and those fishes are so cute!!!, they go perfect with the card.

  5. WOW! This card is certainly adorable!!! You found a fun kit to work with and your finished card is a real treasure! Love those brads 😉 The mermaid is a great idea for a wet card, too. Awesme job!!!

  6. Your mermaid image is adorable, it’s a good thing you found it in your kits. The fish brads are perfect as well, super cute!

  7. Diane Clark-Sutton

    The mermaid theme is awesome. I love all the depth on your card. The fish brads are too cute.

Leave a Reply

