Use It Tuesday #26 – All About Baby

For Use It Tuesday’s Blogiversary winner from the previous challenge, please check out this post.

I am so excited about this week’s Use It Tuesday Challenge!! 🙂

As many of my friends and blog readers will know, I’ve been crafting up something extra special for the last several months. My husband and I are thrilled to be expecting our first baby and today, February 28th, is Baby’s anticipated arrival date.

***We Interrupt This Blog Post for an Important Message of Cuteness***

Our daughter, Claire, arrived last Wednesday, February 22nd and is she ever a work of art!! We’re already pretty enthralled with her and so far she’s proving to be a pretty well behaved baby.  I can say with confidence, this is DEFINITELY the cutest baby, EVER! 😉

***We Resume Our Regular Use It Tuesday Post ***

When I signed up for another term as a member of the Use It Tuesday Design Team, our fabulous leader, Siobhan, asked if I would mind if we celebrated the event with an All About Baby challenge.

I was honored that she’d even ask! Therefore, I knew that I wanted my project for this challenge to be something extra, extra special. Both for you, and for Baby.

Back in November, I picked up two magnetic frames from Creative Memories. I wanted to use these to decorate Baby’s room. In my mind, I thought they’d be great for “rotating” decorations, by posting updated pictures, making scrapbook pages, etc as baby grows. But I had to fill them with something to start off!

Our nursery theme is “Safari” and I wanted to go with something to fit the theme. But so much stuff in the stores these days is very gender specific – blue for boys or pink for girls. It was very difficult to find something that would suit the “unknown”. A couple of weeks ago, I started to formulate my vision of these frames and, thanks to the help of a fantastic friend and her Cricut machine (which I’ve never really used before), it came together better than I could have ever expected.

Here are my two (almost) finished frame:

They aren’t quite up on the wall yet and I need to add some pictures of Claire, but you get the idea. The green “dots” piece of paper will be used to note her birth details (name, weight, etc).

I admit, for this extra special project, there was a bit of purchasing to be done. But, I did also raid my stash of hoarded “stuff”. Many of the Cricut shapes are cut from papers I bought over two years ago (when I thought I’d become a scrapbooker). It feels good to turn forgotten paper into works of art.

There are some close ups of each frames at the bottom of this post.

When I have a free moment (and I’m not catching up on sleep), be assured that I’m coming to check out your creations. Please link your creation using Inlinkz by Friday March 9th, 2012. No blog? No problem! Just use keyword USE026 when uploading to an online gallery and leave us a direct link so we can find your creation.

We’re a pretty flexible bunch here at Use It Tuesday, but please remember we ask two easy things: 1) mention you are playing along with a Use It Tuesday challenge and 2) tell us what hoarded item from your stash you used on your project.

Each challenge, one lucky participant is randomly chosen to be a featured guest designer in an upcoming Use It Tuesday challenge.

Now, I’ve tried to be super organized so that my presence here at Use It Tuesday is hardly missed. But, I also know the plight of the new parent means that my own time might not follow the same plan I set out for myself. So, if you come back on March 13th for the next Use It Tuesday challenge and don’t find me here, remember that you can always check in with my fellow Design Team members. Their names and blogs are all located on the left hand side of my blog and they’ll treat you well. I’ll be back just as soon as I can take my eyes off of this perfect bundle of joy long enough to post!

Thanks for your support, readers! Here’s those close-ups I promised you:

15 responses to “Use It Tuesday #26 – All About Baby

  1. Welcome Claire…you are a cutie…congrats to mum and dad!!!
    your frames are gorgeous!!!
    hugz
    irini

  2. Congratulations, Heather!
    Welcome, beautiful Claire!
    Eka

  3. Your daughter is just stunning! Glad you’re enjoying being a new mom so very much, it’s a special time. And those frames–adorable! Well done!!!

  4. Oh my gracious! Claire is the sweetest little monkey evah! So sweet! Congrats again Heather.
    Your frames are wonderful! I’m glad you got to play with a Cricut! I love mine. 🙂

  5. What a sweet baby girl–Claire is beautiful!

    Love your projects too.

  6. Congratulations!! She is precious..love your beautiful project.

  7. Heather, congrats on this sweet little girl ! I also love your frames- they are so cute and i like the line with the clips.

  8. She is precious! Congrats to your new little family!!

  9. Just popping by to say CONGRATs on a gorgeous little girl! I haven’t been “up to speed” lately but saw that your little bundle has arrived and wanted to send my best!

  10. Congrats Heather! She’s absolutely beautiful. What a fantastic way to celebrate this challenge. Love the frames. 🙂

  11. Congratulations Heather, you’re baby girl is beautiful! Hope you have a speedy recovery!

  12. Oh my goodness! She is sooo very precious! Just adorable & cute as ever!!!!! I’m so thrilled she was born healthy & I hope she continues to be such a blessing to you & your husband!

    Awesome project btw! I love the way you decorated those frames….TFS!!!

  13. Aww congratulations Heather!! Your daughter is such a beautiful little blessing! 😉 Those frames are absolutely adorable, you’re amazing!!
    xoxo Rah

  14. Congrats on baby Claire, she is ADORABLE! BTW, so are you frames. The frames turned out so cute with the Cricut animal cut outs

  15. Pingback: Riley & Company – School’s In! | Lost in the Land of Stamping

Leave a Reply

