Playing with My Card Kits

I love card kits. Problem is, I don’t use them that often. I have a huge stash of them from several swaps and I’m still participating in them, so the collection grows. I need to start using them!

So, as I was packing for the Valentine’s Hair Massacure Crop last weekend, I decided to pack a few card kits.

This kit came from a monthly swap I was in last year. The kit came with an owl image, but it wasn’t quite what I envisioned for these cards, so I did substitute the images. I’ll use those cute owls for something else a little later.

One of the challenges I did have was that I didn’t pack much retired product for the crop. The blue/green in these cards is Bermuda Bay, which is a retired Stampin’ Up In-Color from a couple of years ago. So, I had to be creative and find some good accent to substitute.

Here’s the first card I made. I chose Melon Mambo to go with the card, which was easy since Melon Mambo was an In-Color the same year as Bermuda Bay (but is now a regular color). I’m undecided as to whether this card needs something in the upper right corner. I rounded the edge to provide something different, but it might still need a pearl or rhinestone or something. Any suggestions?

The second card I made used Daffodil Delight. This color came into the Stampin’ Up line-up after Bermuda Bay left, so I’ve never paired the two before. The Daffodil actually works pretty good with that Bermuda Bay!

I quite enjoyed working with that card kit and have to take a closer look at what else I have in my stash. March is my next Card Kit “Shower” month, so maybe I should try to empty out 11 kits before I get 11 more to replace them!!!

3 responses to “Playing with My Card Kits

  1. Both of these are lovely. Beautiful colors and lovely design.

  2. I love both cards. The color combo with the DSP is awesome.

  3. You have been one very busy lady! Love the colors! Nice job!

Leave a Reply

