Weekly Christmas Card Challenge – January 27th

It’s Friday again, which means time for another Weekly Christmas Card Challenge. I think I mentioned in my last post on the 20th that these challenges come from a wonderful group of ladies that I’m swapping with over at SCS. One of them started these Weekly Christmas Card challenges to help everyone get their cards done early. Great! Exactly what I need!

This week, Patti chose the theme. Her theme choice was “make a card using non-traditional Christmas colors – no red or green!”.

At first I reached for my purples…then I saw the ever growing pile of reject pieces on my desk and thought “I have to tackle this pile!”. Sitting right on top of the pile was a black and white ribbon with matching bow. So, the purple got forgotten and my black and white card got started.

At first I thought I might do JUST black and white, but somewhere in the middle of creating I decided that Stampin Up’s 2012 In-Color Pool Party might look pretty cool with this card. What do you think?

I used a stamp set that tends to be forgotten as well, even though it’s one of my favorites. The set is called Peace on Earth and I just love that start tree. I embossed it in white on the black paper.

I also used my fairly new and fairly unused tab punch. It was perfect for that “Peace” sentiment.

Isn’t it great when you get a chance to use those forgotten items in your stash? And it’s so nice when so many of them come together for a finished project!

3 responses to “Weekly Christmas Card Challenge – January 27th

  1. Your colors look great! The blue really makes the card pop! Great job!

  2. I love that star tree too! Great black, white and blue color combo! Love it 🙂

  3. Like the white embossing on the black paper. Nice non-traditional color combo.

Leave a Reply

