Is It An Addiction or a Hobby When….Use It Tuesday #20

I’ve been madly creating in my craft room this week and my desk is starting to show it. Usually I’m pretty good at cleaning up after each project, but one or two items usually get left behind and soon it’s time to tidy up.

My desk tidying soon had me eyeing other things in the room that needed organizing. Collections that were growing and starting to become somewhat unmanageable. Which got me thinking about this week’s Use It Tuesday challenge. What “hoarded” item should I use this week?

Over the past few years, I have participated in a number of card kit swaps. In these swaps, you send a bag of coordinated materials to let the recipient make cards. It allows you to try out different colors, new images and is just plain fun. Unfortunately, I appear to have a card kit hoarding problem and my tidying eye soon turned to that rather large stack growing over in the corner.

“There must be almost 50 card kits there!” I thought.

But which one would fit this weeks theme? 15 minutes later, I had some nicely organized card kits and a shocking revelation….59 kits!!!! Do these things multiply in the dark?!?! Time to USE IT!!

Will organization reduce hoarding? Likely not, but one can dream!

This week’s theme at Use It Tuesday is….“Thank You” (card or other project).

Easy, peasy. So get going crafters, there’s no excuse not to play this one.

While sorting my kits, I found this gorgeous kit I got almost two years ago from my friend Tess. She knew I LOVED the Stampin’ Up DSP “Good Morning Sunshine” paper (yes, I have some hoarded elsewhere). She also happened to include a Thank You sentiment in this kit, so it was the perfect choice for my card this week.

I wanted to mention that I also played along with the Friday Sketch Challenge for this card.

Alright folks, I better get back into my craft room and check on those mutiplying card kits. Before I go, I’ll take a quick tour of the Design Team’s creations this week, and you should too. It will only take a few minutes of your time and give you a chance to think up great ideas for your Thank You card project.

Once you’ve put your great idea into action, blog your creation and tell us in your post what item that multiplies in the dark you used (or just a regular hoarded item). Then, link your creation to the Use it Tuesday blog. Deadline for this challenge is December 2, 2011.

No blog? No problem! Just use keyword USE020 when uploading to an online gallery and leave us a direct link so we can find your creation.

Remember, make sure to mention you are playing along with a Use It Tuesday challenge (a link is great too!) so we know you are participating.

What might you gain for your efforts? Well, one lucky participant will be randomly chosen to be a featured guest designer in an upcoming challenge! You’ll be so excited you’ll probably want to send us your Thank You card. 😉

Happy Hoarding, Users! (I mean, Happy USING, HOARDERS)

One more card made from the same kit for your viewing pleasure.

16 responses to “Is It An Addiction or a Hobby When….Use It Tuesday #20

  1. I’m glad I read your post. Just a couple of days ago I was organizing my craft room and I found lots of things that I didn’t remember I had them. It is time to start using them… And after a while they look like something new again!!!

  2. Beautiful job on your card this week!!

  3. I just wanted to hop over here from SCS and say HI! Wow, those card kits look great. It’s making me want to get back to swapping… Happy Day!

  4. Now I don’t feel so alone in the hoarding! Great job!

  5. Wow that is quit the collection of crads

  6. Beautiful card. I have not been to inspired to do anything except my SSIC challenges 😦

  7. absolutely love what you did with your kits! I have that same pile in a drawer! I need to organize like you have! 🙂

  8. thank you so much for your wonderful comments! and hoarding..don’t we all?? Mine is DSP….I buy extra when I see one I love…then never use it…then something nicer comes along! Now I tell myself, just buy what you need and will use! let’s see how long that lasts….I have taken to donating stuff, even older stamp sets…not worth the hassel to sell and I really prefer having less and using it all!

  9. OMG. I have the same problem. I am afraid to count mine. Nice variety of cards from the same kit.

  10. Great cards! I have done lots of swaps, but not that kind. I might have to talk my ladies into trying it.

  11. Oh my gosh, you do have a card kit hoarding problem! So glad you used it! And looks like you could be busy for a while! 🙂

  12. Wow! That’s a lot of card kits!! Very interesting play of them. I like the first one more~

  13. Wowsers!! I don’t think you are allowed to join anymore swaps until you start using some of those kits missy!! I had forgotten I sent this kit to you, but you did a gorgeous job with it! Feels good to USE don’t it?!?! 😉

  14. Card kits are a great idea! I love these cards!!!

  15. I think you did a great job with this card kit Hun! The creations you made are FAB & the layouts are excellent….very nice work my dear & TFS!!!

  16. Your card turned out adorable even from an “older” card kit! I’m sure you’re glad you got these out now. What a fun idea. I really like the sketch you chose with this and the colors/DSP really is fab

Leave a Reply

