Winter Wonderland VSN – Post #2

I had to take a break from my Virtual Stamp Night challenges last night for dinner. Dinner went longer than expected and I didn’t get back to my challenges in time. Oh well, it happens.

So, today I decided I wanted to catch up. After doing the weekends errands, I sat back down at my craft desk to create. The first thing I did was go back to the first challenge I skipped last night.

Challenge #1: Warm and Cozy and ALL Bundled Up: The challenge was to make a card featuring something cozy AND use felt. I didn’t have felt, but I found this great flannel fabric that is pretty cozy. I knew it would look great on my card. I paired it with this image from Greeting Card Kids (SU). Doesn’t she look cozy in her warm hat and mittens and stockings?

Challenge #3: Jingle Bell Rock: The next challenge was to make a card inspired by your favorite holiday song. Mine happens to be “Old Toy Trains” (the Nana Mouskouri version if you want to get specific!). This stamp reminded me of the line “….little toy drums coming from a sack, carried by a man dressed in white and red…” Ahhh, I LOVE that song!!!

Challenge #4: Let It Snow: The next challenge was to use flower soft or flocking or something that resembled snow. I used flock, but not as snow. I found this cute penguin head stamp and made a body for him. Then, I used the flock to make his body nice and fuzzy. Doesn’t he look adorable?

Challenge #5: Head in the Clouds: Next challenge was to make a card featuring clouds. This challenge threw me off for a bit, seeing as I have neither a cloud die or cloud stamp. But, then I pulled out my trusty post it notes and did some masking to make this cloud background. I also improvised to make this cute little kite. Love how the card turned out!

Challenge #6: Get Out the Salt!: This was a pretty neat challenge and used a technique on SCS called “Salted Background”. At first I thought this technique was going to create a humongous mess (especially when my cat looked like he was going to jump into the middle of it), but it was actually not too bad (and the cat stayed put on the floor). Definitely a cute technique!!

Extra Challenge: The VSN hostesses made an extra challenge. Yesterday, of course, was 11/11/11 and the extra challenge was posted at 11:11 pm. The challenge was to make a card with 11 items…you could count them anyway you wanted, but had to include in your challenge what you counted. Here’s my card.

My 11 items were:

-3 colors (Crumb Cake, Old Olive and Real Red)
– 1 patterned paper design
– 3 stamps (background, sentiment and main image)
– 2 nestie shapes (oval and rectangle)
– 2 kinds of embellishments (pearls and buttons)

3 responses to “Winter Wonderland VSN – Post #2

  1. Wow girl, you rocked it! Rock salted it, I mean? 😉 Glad to hear the cat survived the project!

  2. Beautiful cards! Great job getting your challenges done! I’m having trouble getting motivated on a regular basis.

  3. Very nice cards!!! I love that image of the girl with her cozy coat from SU, it is very sweet. and after you mention the song I went to Youtube to listen to it because I didn’t grow up with that song and it is beautiful!!!. Really feels like Christmas is getting here!!!

Leave a Reply

