Use It Tuesday #18 – Black, Orange, Purple

Where does the time go? The weeks pass and we’re back for another Use It Tuesday challenge. My blog has been much quieter than I meant it to be this fall, but that can’t be helped, I guess. As we head into the months before Christmas, things are unlikely to improve very much.  As Christmas approaches, I start working on gifts and I can’t post those for fear that one of the recipients might be reading. However, I do have a couple things I can post for you and will try to do so in the next few days.

But, back to Use It Tuesday! We hope you enjoyed last week’s metal challenge. Thank you to all who participated. There were some amazing projects posted last week. Great work, crafters!

This week’s challenge is a color challenge…we want to see your Black, Orange and Purple projects.

This is a great opportunity to show off those Halloween projects (please give me some ideas I can use for Christmas?), but if you’re not into Halloween, or just don’t feel the Halloween vibe, there’s lots more you can do with this terrific combo.

I chose to head in a non-Halloween direction and try to create sympathy card for a friend. In the end, I’m very happy with this week’s project. Always feels good when that happens.

I started my project by raiding my patterned paper stash for inspiration. I found some retired Rich Razzleberry paper and decided to head in that direction. That lead to the black Top Note die (a die I LOVE and don’t use enough) and the paper flowers that have been sitting in my stash for awhile.

Another hoarded item, my brayer, makes an appearance. I’ve been playing with it a bit this week, trying to make it “work” for me. I think I finally have had some success, so thought I’d continue that success and brayer an image for the front. Love how this turned out!

Finally, I added just a little bit extra to the front and then the inside with my fairly new and fairly unused SU Lace Ribbon Border punch.

Well, now it’s your turn. Head on over to the Use It Tuesday blog and show off your stuff by linking up your blog post. Don’t have a blog? No problem! Just upload your card to a public gallery using the keyword USE018 and leave us a direct link. Deadline for this challenge is November 4, 2011 (yes, that’s only 10 short days away!). Don’t forget to include in your post or gallery comments the fact that you’re playing along with Use It Tuesday. And, so that we can keep you honest, share with us what item you pulled out of your stash for the challenge. As always, one super lucky winner of this challenge will be asked to be a guest designer in an upcoming Use It Tuesday challenge.

Now, what are you still doing here?! Get crafty!

12 responses to “Use It Tuesday #18 – Black, Orange, Purple

  1. now that we’re done moving i can come back to comment! i absolutely love the image you created, wow! :)))

  2. I love the scene you made! That is gorgeous 🙂

  3. What a beautiful card…love how you used the brayer!

  4. I really like the color combination!

  5. What a cute card & I like the background you made! Very nice work & TFS!!!!

  6. Very special looking card here! Also like the paper lace inside the card~

  7. Great way to use these colors with non-Halloween! I like it!

  8. very pretty!

  9. This is stunning! That background is so striking! Love how you used the colors!

  10. Beautiful! What a lovely effect using the brayer. I can’t even guess where my brayer is… let alone know what to do with it. LOL! Good job!!

Leave a Reply

