Use It Tuesday #17 – Metal!!

Happy Tuesday again, folks. Do you look forward to Use It Tuesday days as much as I do?

It’s a busy week in the house. This past weekend was Canadian Thanksgiving. For the most part, it was a quiet holiday, but I tried to use it to catch up on crafts, shopping and other errands. Then, back to work for two days and after that, a short break while I’m off to a scrap/stamp retreat for the weekend! I’m excited, but will be more excited once I get all my supplies packed. I hate that part.

But onto our challenge…this week’s Use it Tuesday challenge is to use Metal in your project. I’m sure you’ve got lots of ideas for this one, crafters. So dig into your supplies and find those lost and forgotten metal and metal-like items (or metal themed items?).

I decided to go back to a technique I did a couple of years ago. The Faux Metal technique. I’m sure you can find tutorials most anywhere, but I used the one posted on Splitcoast Stampers. The nice thing about this technique is that I got to “use up” my oft forgotten embossing supplies. I have a drawer full of powders and such and don’t use them very often. Here is my pretty little card:

I chose to use the Faux Metal technique for my main image, but you can also use this great idea to make faux metal buttons or embellishments. Check out the tutorial for more info on that. Here’s a close up of the metal piece if you want a better look.

And, as usual I used other things from my stash it up. That gorgeous paper is my much hoarded Kiwi Kiss (with matching ribbon). I also pulled out some of my Basic Grey Marjolaine paper, which I luuuuvvv and used scraps for my lacy borders. Pretty good, eh?

Alright, crafters. You know the drill. Head on over to Use It Tuesday, check out this week’s challenge, admire the Design Team creations and support your fellow crafters by checking out their challenges too.Then march your stamping self over to your craft cave and make yourself a pretty project incorporating something metal.

When you’re done, head on back to the Use It Tuesday blog and link up so that I can come admire your work and leave you some comment love (won’t that feel good?). Make sure you link up your challenge before Friday October 21st, 2011. No blog? We love you anyway! Just find an online gallery, upload your creation using the keyword USE017 and leave us a direct link so that we can find your creation.

And remember, please mention in your post/gallery link that you are playing along with us at Use It Tuesday (a link is great too) so that we know you’re participating. Plus, it means all your fabulous friends and followers will come play with us too. Also tell us in your post which item from your stash you used to interpret our  metal challenge. Finally, one random creative guru will be chosen to be a guest designer in a future Use It Tuesday challenge.

Alright, my lovelies…get crafting!

5 responses to “Use It Tuesday #17 – Metal!!

  1. Super cute card…love that technique!

  2. I absolutely love how you used your images for that technique! I looks so good! I have never used that technique previously so I think I need to give it a try…goodness knows, I have enough EP around! LOL

  3. Nice metal card! I made one before. It’s so fun! Wel come to the group too!

  4. I love all the layers. TFS.

  5. I love this technique but never had the opportunity to use it. Your card turned out really neat!!. Welcome to the group!!!

Leave a Reply

