Use it Tuesday Challenge #13

Lucky number thirteen!!! Are you ready? Here we go!!

This week, Use It Tuesday has a theme challenge for you. The theme?

Indian Summer

What is an Indian Summer? Well, thanks to the wikipedia, I found this information on the term “Indian Summer”.

– an Indian summer is a meterological phenomenom that occurs in autumn. It refers to a period of considerably above normal temperatures, accompanied by dry and hazy conditions, after there has been a killing frost.

– The modern use of the term is when the weather is sunny and clear, and above 21 °C (70 °F), after there has been a sharp frost.

– In some regions of the south-eastern United States, ‘Indian summer’ is colloquially used to describe the hottest times of the year, typically in late July or August. But in the South, as elsewhere in the US, this period is more commonly known as the “dog days” of summer. In the desert south-western United States, where frost is rare, the term is sometimes used to refer to a brief period of hot dry weather which occurs after the hottest months and before the onset of winter rains.

– It may also be used to refer to any unseasonably warm weather during the first few weeks of the rainy season, before the approach of spring.

– The term ‘Indian summer’ is also used metaphorically to refer to a late blooming of something, often unexpectedly, or after it has lost relevance. 

After reading all that, I’m still not sure I know what an Indian Summer is. But when I read the challenge I got a picture in my mind of the bright colors of a late summer sunset. So here is my card for the week:

As usual, the name of the game with Use It Tuesday is to use something from your current craft collection. This week, I used my loved, but often unused brayer. I love this tool, but don’t use it enough to think I’m good with it. This challenge was the perfect time to practice my skills.

I can’t wait to see how “Indian Summer” inspires you. Create a masterpiece and link your creation on the Use It Tuesday website using Inlinkz anytime before Friday August 19, 2011. No blog? No problem! Just use keyword USE013 when uploading to an online gallery and leave us a direct link so we can find your creation. (Linking tips are at the bottom of the post on the Use it Tuesday site!)

Please make sure to mention you are playing along with a Use It Tuesday challenge (a link is great too!) so we know you are participating and tell us what cherished item from your craft collection you’ve used in your creation.

As always, one lucky participant will be randomly chosen to be a featured guest designer in an upcoming challenge!

Now, get crafty!!

6 responses to “Use it Tuesday Challenge #13

  1. ROFL! I had looked up the exact same info on Wikipedia! 🙂 This card is so pretty! I love that you pulled out that brayer to make the beautiful scenery. I can’t even say that I have ever used my brayer!!

  2. wow, this looks beautiful! love the colorcombo, those trees and the background!

  3. What a beautiful card, wonderful colors.

  4. I absolutely love your take on it! The sunset looks so inviting!

  5. fantastic color combo!

  6. Really pretty card and it does fit the bill for an Indian Summer! Thanks for stopping by my blog today with kind comments. Yvonne

Leave a Reply

