Hambo Hoedown Week 15

Hey all,

I’m back again for another week of the Hambo Hoedown. This week, the challenge was to use bright colors and paper piecing in your card.

I haven’t done too much paper piecing, trying it for the first time a few weeks ago, so I was a little nervous trying to do it with digital stamps. However, I’m really happy with the way this card came out. My husband commented that it looks like she’s riding in a thimble, instead of a basket, but I don’t care! It’s colorful.

Speaking of colorful, I picked up these three patterned papers on sale at Micheals about a month ago and hadn’t found the perfect time to use them. When I went through my paper trying to find a “colorful” pattern for this card, I found the paper and decided this was the perfect card to use it on.

The sentiment is not Hambo, or the one that comes with this Balloon Girl stamp. I didn’t mind the Hambo sentiment (which says “What’s Up?”), but I haven’t found the opportunity to use this “Up, Up and Away” sentiment yet from My Favorite Things, so decided to mix it up a bit.

5 responses to “Hambo Hoedown Week 15

  1. What a cute card! I love the flowered paper with the polka dotted ribbon and your colorful balloon.

  2. I love all the pink and the cute striped balloon basket! Thanks so mch for playing along at the Hoedown!

  3. Oh, the colors on this are gorgeous! I love the bright cheery look to it!

    And I enjoyed looking at your creative space below! Always fun to see where people create!

    I like how you photograph your cards. You don’t? I always angle…and then I set mine up on a piece of white posterboard that is folded in half. Edit in Picasa. 🙂

  4. Hi girl, 🙂
    Yes that is a stamp from ODB that has a die to match it.

    This is just adorable, love how you paper pieced the basket.

  5. Hey Girl! I get the curly behind the ribbon by using Karen Foster Scrappers floss and curling it. 🙂 Secret revealed!!!

Leave a Reply

