Christmas in March

Christmas will actually be an all year ocurance on my blog. In an effort to not be in a major panic come December. I’ve decided to participate in the SplitCoast Stampers Christmas Card Challenge this year. The challenge is to make a certain number of Christmas cards every month, January to November, so that you have everything you need in December and can focus on the other last minute things you promised to get to earlier and didn’t.

My challenge is to do five cards per month. These are the first three of my March cards.

I’m really happy with the way this card turned out. I purchased this striped paper a couple of years ago. I really like it, but I’ve had trouble matching it to just the right shade of red or finding a green that compliments it. It always seemed like the the colors I picked washed the paper out, which didn’t highlight the shiny red stripes that attracted me so much. Using the Very Vanilla background really made the stripes stand out. Plus, this green satin ribbon I got in a card kit was perfect for it.

The next two cards I did used the stocking image from Stampin’ Up’s “It’s A Stretch” stamp set. I love this stamp set, but sometimes the images are difficult to use, given their so long! You almost have to go with a vertical card.

For the first card using this set, I found this cool “Merry Christmas” patterned paper that I received from Wish RAK. I paired it with a Riding Hood Red background (adding some texture with my Swiss Dots embossing folder) and ended up with this sweet and simple card.

The third card of March (and second with the “It’s A Stretch” stamp set), I also started with the patterned paper in designing my card. Again, I purchased this paper a couple years ago and really loved it. I had just a scrap of it left and didn’t want to throw it out! The piece was a perfect fit across the body of the card and left just enough room for the embossed border on either side. I also chose to accent the card with the brushed gold paper, which picked up the gold touches in the patterned paper. I love this card. I hope I can find paper like this next season!

I’ll finish the other two Christmas Cards off later this week and post them as well.

One response to “Christmas in March

  1. Although I love all of these, the stocking cards are my favorites.

Leave a Reply

