“Use it Up” Challenges

It’s been awhile since I’ve been working on my “Use it Up” Challenges. Life around here has been busy and I just haven’t had as much time for crafting. But, my stack of retired paper is getting smaller and I’m anxious to see how far through the challenges before I run out of colors, so I need to get back on it.

Color Challenge #34: Ruby Red; Close to Cocoa; So Saffron (Optional)

This color combination didn’t take me very long. I had these three squares of patterned paper sitting on my desk, waiting to be used (I love to use scraps) and they seemed to go well with this color combination. After deciding to work with them, the rest of the card came together quite quickly.

Cardstock: Barely Banana; Close to Cocoa; Ruby Red

Stamps: Watercolor Trip (SU)

Ink: Versamark

Other: Patterned Paper (Brand Unknown); So Saffron Ribbon (SU); White Embossing Powder; Designer Label Punch

Color Challenge #35: Old Olive; Creamy Carmel; Close to Cocoa

At first I wasn’t that thrilled with this combination. The two brown colors made the card seem quite dark. But then I found this cute little dragon image that I received from a swap and thought it would be the perfect thing to lighten it up. You notice how a “fun” image can brighten a card where a more serious image would make it seem quite dark?

In the end, I love this cute little card. And, I’m going to have to find out the name of this image so that I can find the stamp for myself.

Cardstock: Old Olive; Creamy Caramel; Close to Cocoa; Whisper White

Stamps: The More the Merrier (SU); Dragon Stamp Unkown

Ink: Basic Black; Early Espresso; markers in Old Olive; Pear Pizzaz; Daffodil Delight; Melon Mambo

Other: Old Olive Buttons; Swiss Dots Embossing Folder; Modern Label Punch; Summer Picnic DSP (SU)

Color Challenge #36: Mellow Moss, Perfect Plum, Barely Banana (or Very Vanilla)

I chose to use Barely Banana for this card. I also choose to pull out my Medallion stamp, which I don’t use very often. The result is a nice simple “Best Wishes” card that I’ll probably use for someone’s birthday.

Cardstock: Mellow Moss; Perfect Plum; Barely Banana

Stamp: Medallion (SU); Cute & Curly (SU)

Ink: Perfect Plum

Other: Mellow Moss Button (SU); Ribbon (brand unknown); Curly Label Punch

Color Challenge #37: Sahara Sand; Always Artichoke; Bravo Burgundy (Optional)

What’s with these optional colors? And for some reason, the optional colors always end up pretty prominent in my final design. This was another combination that I felt would be pretty dark unless I could find a way to lighten it up. I chose to use the Sahara Sand as the main color for the body to accomplish this. I like this simple, elegant Christmas card.

Cardstock: Always Artichoke; Bravo Burgundy; Sahara Sand

Stamps: Lovely as a Tree (SU); Peace on Earth (SU)

Ink: Always Artichoke; Early Espresso; Bravo Burgundy

Other: Bravo Burgundy 5/8″ Grosgrain Ribbon (SU); Rhinestones;

4 responses to ““Use it Up” Challenges

  1. wonderful cards. Love that dragon, he is just adorable.

  2. I love seeing your cards from the Use It Up challenges; I’m attached to my cardstock – even if it is retired. You give me great ideas about how to use those old colors!

    Please LMK if you find out the name of that dragon stamp. He is too, too cute!

  3. I love the concept! I have just been trying to use my stuff on my own…these challenges sure are inspiring!

  4. LOVE it! What a fun color combo!

Leave a Reply

