Lily Lake Retreat

This weekend I went to the Lily Lake Scrapbook Retreat hosted by a local Creative Memories Consultant. My friend Tess went last year and invited me to come along this year. I had alot of fun!

We left the house early Friday. The retreat was only about 45 minutes away and didn’t start until 12:00 pm, but we had plans before we got there. Tess and Mel picked me up at 8:30 a.m. and we quickly got my things stuffed into her very full car. Then we headed off to start our day with a delicious, warm breakfast at a local Smitty’s and then stopped at Bulk Barn for some weekend treats.

We ended up arriving at Lily Lake Resort just before noon and it took us an hour or so to get all our stuff set out for easy access. Then we sat down and started our crafty weekend.

Overall, it was quite a productive weekend. I completed 13 cards and then started a mini album (that isn’t quite finished yet). It doesn’t really seem like that much, but you’d be surprised how much time is taken up eating, sleeping, meeting new people, etc.

Here’s a rundown of the weekends accomplishments. Some were challenges Tess and I did together. Others were just personal projects I was busy working on.

The first challenge was a color challenge using a photo as inspiration. The colors to use were some combination of black; pink; red; light green and dark green.

Cardstock: Basic Black; Real Red; Whisper White

Stamps: On Your Birthday (SU); Bear of an Appetite (House Mouse Stamps)

Ink: Basic Black; SU markers in a variety of colors

Other: Real Red 5/8″ Satin Ribbon (SU); Real Red Corduroy Button (SU); Patterned Paper (brand unknown)

I received this cute stamp, from The Greeting Farm’s Cheeky Cherry Collection from an image swap on SU. She’s so cute! I also found a perfect use for this quilted Top Note I made a few weeks ago. I found it was a great use for my leftover pieces of pattern paper. This challenge was Tess’ pick, to use glitter or stickles. It’s not evident in the picture, but I used dazzling diamonds in her hair and in the sentiment.

Cardstock: Real Red; Old Olive;

Stamps: Cheeky Glamour (The Greeting Farm); Bubble Queen (SU)

Ink: Basic Black;

Other: Patterned Paper (SU and a number of other vendors); dazzling diamonds (SU); rhinestones; Top Note Die

We completed the last challenge late Friday night and both needed something else to work on while our energy was starting to wan. I had packed my September Grab Bag kit to work on (since it’s no longer September and I was a bit behind). The stamp set used in this grab bag is not my usual style and it was REALLY throwing me off. However, after sitting down on Friday, the ideas started to flow and I ended up with these great cards. I ended up making two cards of each type. Aren’t they cute?

The one on the right I actually entered into the layout contest they had on Sunday.

Supplies: I’m not going to list supplies for these cards, since I didn’t prepare the original kits and am not 100% sure what the materials are. However, as this was an Stampin Up only swap, all items are either current or retired items from Stampin Up.

The next challenge, on Saturday,  was my pick and was a sketch. Sometimes we find color inspiration in commercial items (rooms, bed linens, etc), so why can’t we find layout inspiration in commercial items such as advertisements or packaging? While I was searching for ideas, I came across the Science Diet (pet food) log and thought it would make a great sketch.

Here’s my card creation using the logo as sketch inspiration.

Cardstock: Rich Razzleberry; Crushed Curry; Whisper White.

Stamps: Birthday Bakery (SU); Cute by the Inch (SU)

Ink: Basic Black; Melon Mambo; Rich Razzleberry; markers in Melon Mambo; Creamy Caramel; Close to Cocoa; Rich Razzleberry; Crushed Curry; Going Grey; Gable Green

Other: Razzleberry Lemonade DSP (SU); Silver Brads (SU); Circle Nestabilities; Floral Fantasy Cuttlebug Folder

The next challenge was to use Pink and Orange. These wouldn’t normally be colors I would use together, but I like this little card. I love those Riley images!!

Cardstock: Pretty in Pink; Tangerine Tango; Whisper White

Stamps: Expecting Sophie (Riley & Co); Baby Bundle (SU)

Ink: Basic Black; Tangerine Tango; Pretty in Pink; markers in Creamy Caramel; Close to Cocoa; Pretty in Pink; Tangerine Tango

Other: Pretty in Pink Corduroy Button (SU); Modern Label Punch (SU); Word Window Punch (SU); Thoroughly Modern DSP (SU); Raspberry Tart DSP (SU); Swiss Dots Embossing Folder (Cuttlebug); Ribbon (Unknown Vendor)

The next challenge was a big mistake. I thought I was being clever, issuing a difficult challenge. Both Tess and I struggled our way through this. Tess did a great card, but I’m pretty sure she felt it wasn’t as fabulous as most her cards and I did three…or was it four….cards (and maybe threw one small tantrum) before getting a finished product. The challenge was to do a card with one layer of white cardstock and any ink colors. Yikes.

Here’s the card I created (top). And now I”ll admit, after I got home today, I edited the card a bit. I cut the card front off the existing card and trimmed the edges down. Then I attached the front to a Soft Suede base. I’m much happier with the “frame” and the stiffer base (bottom).

If anyone out there wants to try this challenge for themselves and see if they can do any better, leave me a comment with a link back to your creation, because it was tough!

Cardstock: Soft Suede; Whisper White

Stamps: Watercolor Trio (SU)

Ink: More Mustard; Soft Suede; Wild Wasabi; So Saffron

Next challenge was a sketch. I decided this was a great opportunity to play with SU’s Bird Punch that Tess owns. I might have to add this punch to my collection somewhere along the line.

Cardstock: Bashful Blue; Pumpkin Pie; Old Olive; Whisper White

Stamps: Picture Perfect (SU)

Ink: Pumpkin Pie; Old Olive

Other: Bird Punch (SU); Pumpkin Pie 1/8″ Grosgrain Ribbon (SU); Stylized Flowers Embossing Folder (Cuttlebug); Oval and Scallop Oval Punch (SU); Oval Nesabilities; Summer Picnic DSP (SU); Bali Breeze DSP (SU); Rhinestones

I had participated in a swap back in July where I received a bunch of Christmas card kits. I took a few to Lily Lake hoping to use them, but only got around to making one card. Does anyone else use this set and have some fabulous designs I could CASE? There are some things I really like about this card and other things that I’m only kinda happy with.

Cardstock: Old Olive; Early Espresso

Stamps: Home From Christmas (SU)

Ink: Real Red; Brown (type unknown)

Other: Patterned Paper (brand unknown); Pointsettia Accent (brand unknown)

Another “toy” Tess owns that I wanted to play with this weekend was Awash with Flowers stamp set. I’ve seen some great cards with this, but the two-step stamping isn’t something I gravitate too. For some reason, I always have trouble lining up the second step. I blame it on my left-handedness, but who really knows. And using the stamp-a-ma-jig for each and every flower seems really tedious.

Here’s my Awash with Flowers Thank you.

Cardstock: Pumpkin Pie; Chocolate Chip; Whisper White

Stamps: Awash with Flowers (SU); Watercolor Trio (SU)

Ink: Basic Black; Pumpkin Pie; So Saffron; Pretty in Pink

Other: Oval and Scallop Oval Punch: SU; Distressing Tool (SU); Sweet Pea DSP (SU); Bali Breeze DSP (SU); Chocolate Chip 5/8″ Satin Ribbon (SU); Corduroy Button (SU); Swiss Dots Embossing Folder (Cuttlebug)

Last card of the retreat was this Micey Birthday. I love this card, it’s adorable!

Cardstock: Poppy Parade; Pear Pizzaz; Tempting Turquoise; Whisper White

Stamps: Cupcake Party (from the Penny Black Critter Party set); Teeny Tiny Wishes (SU)

Ink: Poppy Parade; SU markers in Creamy Caramel, Tempting Turquoise, Pear Pizzaz; Poppy Parade; So Saffron

Other: Pear Pizzaz Ribbon (SU); Modern Label and Word Window Punch (SU); Delicate Dots DSP (SU)

And that’s the end of my weekend, other than the unfinished mini-album. I’ll post a picture of it once it’s done.

I realize this is a long post, so if you made it to the end, thanks for sticking around.

 

6 responses to “Lily Lake Retreat

  1. Oh my gosh…you were very productive!! So, I think my favorite, which is difficult to pick, would be the heart treat cups cards! Those colors are amazing together!! What a fun weekend! I need to find a scrappy retreat here!

  2. The bear leaning on the stack of pizza’s is so funny! He’s all set for a pizza binge! LOL Love all your cards!

  3. wow..So many cards, all of them are beautiful. Love the bear eating up the pizza, this is adorable.

  4. Great cards 🙂 And thanks for coming along for the weekend! Hope you had fun!

  5. wow, your retreat sounds like so much fun!! love all the cards you made too. wow, beautiful bright colors and awesome designs. 🙂

  6. Dear Jade,

    I just love your Gruffies® Pizza eater creation and it would be great if you wouldn’t mind uploading it and other Gruffies®, House-Mouse Designs®, and/or HappyHoppers® on to our web site. You can click on the link below to check this out.
    Click here

    Thanks so much.

    Barry Percy
    Co-Owner/Co-Founder
    House-Mouse Designs, Inc.

Leave a Reply

