Stamp Night at My LSS – “Use it Up” Challenge #9 – #13

Last night, I went to crop night at the local scrap store with some friends. Tess (who if you read my blog you’ll know crafts with me frequently) was there and we had decided in advance to do some of the color challenges I’ve been working on. I was hoping I’d get quite a few challenges done in the hours I thought I’d be there but, as usual, Tess and I sometimes work slower than expected so we just got five done last night.

Color Challenge #9: Ruby Red; Sage Shadow

When I pack for crop nights, I hope to pack everything I need and avoid the temptation of having to shop. With with all that paper, glitter and ribbon right there, it’s hard to resist the temptation. Still, I was hoping to get through at least a few challenges before adding to my account. No such luck. First challenge paper is out of the box and Tess and I already decided that we needed to go shopping. In our defence, we DIDN’T have patterned paper that matched these two colors and the card probably would have ended up pretty boring without some patterned paper.

Tess brought Stampin Up’s new Greeting Card Kids stamp set. This set is pretty cute, so I decided to take the opportunity to use it to make a cute Christmas card. I was trying to go for a bit of a vintage look. Did it work?

Cardstock: Ruby Red; Sage Shadow; Very Vanilla

Stamps: Greeting Card Kids (Stampin Up); Curly Cute (Stampin Up)

Ink: Basic Black; Ruby Red

Other: Designer Paper

Color Challenge #10: Summer Sun; Real Red; Pink Passion

Oh boy.

I think I can blame this color challenge for slowing the night down. Red and pink are two colors that don’t immediately go together. Add in the brightness of Summer Sun and you’ve got one WILD card. I was all for skipping this combo because I didn’t have any Pink Passion paper, but one of us convinced the other that we could find a patterned paper in Pink Passion and still do the challenge.

Then, one of us (I think it might have been me) opened our big mouths and suggested we pick a patterned paper that the other one had to use. This gives the opportunity to be cruel to each other with an already difficult challenge.

I picked a bright pink piece of paper for Tess that had yellow daisies on it. Here card isn’t posted yet, but when it is, I’ll update you with the link to her blog so that you can see it too.

For me, Tess picked a piece of bright pink paper that had white lips in various sizes all over it.

What am I going to do with this!?!?!

But, a challenge is a challenge.

I decided to use the new Birthday Bakery set for this card. The sentiments around eating cake made it perfect to suggest that those many lips were devouring pieces of delicious birthday cake. At least, that was the vision in my head when I created this card.

This is not a color combination that I would use very often. But in the end, I’m pretty happy with the way this card turned out.

Cardstock: Real Red; Summer Sun; Whisper White

Stamps: Birthday Bakery (Stampin Up)

Ink: Basic Black; Pink Passion; markers in Close to Cocoa; Creamy Caramel and So Saffron

Other: Patterned Paper; Ribbon; White Gel Pen

Color Challenge #11: More Mustard; Mellow Moss; Brocade Blue

The next challenge we hit the store again (see a bad pattern being established here?). This time, Tess picked one embellishment and I picked one embellishment and we both had to use the two in the card. Tess picked these great butterflies that went beautifully with the More Mustard paper. I picked a ribbon in More Mustard.

I really like the color combination of these three colors and the Riley Under the Tree image I chose to use was perfect. I struggled a bit trying to decide on the right sentiment and where to place it, but this is my finished product.

Cardstock: More Mustard; Mellow Moss; Brocade Blue; Whisper White

Stamps: Under the Tree Riley (Riley & Co); Happy Moments (sentiment, Stampin Up)

Ink: More Mustard; Basic Black; markers in Cream Caramel; Close to Cocoa; More Mustard; Brocade Blue; Chocolate Chip

Other: Patterned Paper; ribbon; butterfly embellishment

Color Challenge #12: Ruby Red; Bordering Blue

Tess and I managed to resist the shopping on this card. Instead, we pulled a “sample” card from old Stampin Up catalogues and recreated the card (loosely). I don’t have the original card to show you, but this was my creation.

I like the simplicity of this card. It was fun to make and different from what I usually create.

Cardstock: Ruby Red; Brocade Blue; Whisper White

Stamps: Punched Posies; A Word for You

Ink: Ruby Red; Brocade Blue

Other: Blue Rhinestone

Color Challenge #13: Barely Banana; Summer Sun; and one of Basic Brown, Chocolate Chip or Basic Black

When I was perusing the Color Challenge list a couple of days ago, the opportunity to use these colors was really appealing. I couldn’t wait to get to this combo. Once I had it in front of me, I wasn’t sure how to use it!

Some color combinations (like #10 with the red and pink) you don’t think you’re going to like and they turn out great. Other combinations you think are going to be spectacular and they end up being…just okay. Of course, layout has alot to do with that. Even now, I don’t think I dislike this color combination, I’m just not sure my card lives up to it’s full “wow” potential.

However, this was the first time I’ve used both these images, so it’s fun to find an opportunity to use something new.

Cardstock; Summer Sun; Barely Banana; Basic Black

Stamps: Picture Perfect (Stampin Up); Happy Moments (Stampin Up)

Ink: Basic Black

Other: Rockabilly Designer Series Paper; Ribbon

5 responses to “Stamp Night at My LSS – “Use it Up” Challenge #9 – #13

  1. So many cards,,sound like you had a fun and productive day.. They are all just beautiful!!

  2. That first card definitely has a vintage feel to it ~ I love it!

  3. What a night! But I have to ask you…. did you use up anything? LOL

    Love your blog!

    • I did. I’m making a nice dent in the paper stack. I didn’t start using Stampin Up until a couple of years ago, so I had just acquired most of the paper and inks when the announced the color renovation. So, I hadn’t accumulated a large amount of DSP, embellishments, ribbons, etc in these colors.

  4. beautiful cards, great inspiration!

Leave a Reply

