“Use it Up” Color Challenge #6, #7, #8

I had started this post yesterday, thinking I was going to spend some time in my craft room. I did end up spending quite a bit of time there, but it was working on other projects and I didn’t get to “Use it Up” Color Challenge #6.

Tonight (after an afternoon of stamping at Stamp Club) I got back to my craft desk with the specific purpose of working on these cards.

Color Challenge #6: Rose Red; Chocolate Chip

These colors aren’t actually retired. Both of them made the cut and were included in the new color palate. However, I’m committed to going on order of the challenges, so I’m going to dig into my supplies and play along.

Since there were only two colors for this card (and I had some matching ribbons), I decided to CASE a card I admired earlier this week on Cammi’s blog, Cuttin’ Up.  She made this card, in gorgeous orange and brown (with a hint of green) card for her husband’s birthday.

When I saw this card, I knew I was going to have to try it out.

Unfortunately, as I got to the final stages of putting my card together, I realized that my card was going to be nowhere close as wonderful as hers. I decided I needed to make some last minute adjustments to make my card to make me happy with the result.

Here is the card I created. I’m sure you can see where I took inspiration from Cammi and where I changed things up.

Cardstock: Chocolate Chip; Rose Red; Whisper White

Stamps: “Cupcakes” (from Impression Obsession)

Ink: Basic Black

Other: Rose Red Double Stitched Ribbon; Chocolate Chip Ribbon; Whisper White 1/4″ grosgrain

Color Challenge #7: Handsome Hunter; Bravo Burgandy

I puzzled with this color combination for awhile. First of all, these are two pretty dark colors. It makes me lean to a masculine card, but that just didn’t feel right today. After looking for some inspiration, I decided this was a challenge I just needed to use my own creativity for and see what came out of it.

Since I was playing with colors I was hesitant about, I thought I’d be really bold and use a stamp set that I haven’t inked yet – and am sometimes a little scared to use.

The result was this great birthday card. I added the “pop” of More Mustard in there and I’m really glad I did. The simple splash of color brightens the card up and turns it into an elegant birthday greeting.

Cardstock: Handsome Hunter; Bravo Burgundy; Whisper White

Stamps: Watercolor Trio (Stampin Up)

Ink: Handsome Hunter; Bravo Burgundy; More Mustard

Other: Bravo Burgundy 5/8″ grosgrain ribbon; Square Lattice Embossing Folder (Stampin Up)

Color Challenge #8: Bashful Blue; Rose Red

Another combination that uses two colors that have stuck around through the color renovation at Stampin Up. Bashful Blue is one of my favorite colors, so let’s see how it pairs with Rose Red.

Thank you to jessthenurse on SCS for the inspiration in her gallery. Jess has this card posted, using one of my favorite paper collections from Stampin Up, Good Morning Sunshine. Good Morning Sunshine didn’t fit my needs today, but I had plenty of other papers in the Bashful Blue color to make my card.

And I am so happy with the way this card turned out!

Cardstock: Bashful Blue; Rose Red

Stamps: Happy Moments (SU) and Whimsical Words (SU)

Ink: Rose Red

Other: Bashful Blue 1/4″ grosgrain ribbion; Rose Red button

4 responses to ““Use it Up” Color Challenge #6, #7, #8

  1. lovely cards, wonderful colors.

  2. LOVE your cards. Very pretty. Ill have to check out those color challenges. 🙂

  3. What a surprise this morning; I’m flattered that you CASE’d one of my cards! I am in love with your middle card in this post. Those colors really work well together and more mustard has always been one of my favorites in that family.

  4. I love this card & happy that I inspired you to case one of my cards as well! Thanks so much! I have been browsing your blog today & have much inspiration here!

Leave a Reply

