“Use it Up” Color Challenge #3, #4, & #5

Welcome back, viewers.

It’s finally then end of the week. It’s been a busy one, as most are these days. I’m happy to be back in my basement nice and early today, ready to stamp away. I do have a warm cat on my lap right now, so the desire to move to the craft table is a little low, but I’m sure it won’t be long before he finds something else to do and I can reclaim my lap.

In preparation for that moment, let’s check out Color Challenge #3.

Color Challenge #3: Night of Navy; Rose Red; Brocade Blue

Since I messed up on the last challenge and used Night of Navy instead of Not Quite Navy, I was going to do the opposite for this card, but I just don’t think the Not Quite Navy looks as good, so I’m sticking with the challenge as presented.

Be back soon with my creation.

A Significant Time Later….

I decided to continue CASing cards from the members of my new blog group. Is it not true that imitation is the highest form of flattery?

The SCS galleries were down early in the evening, so I decided to do some blog tours and see what I could find. I found a few cards I liked (stay tuned!), but decided that this card on Creations by NancyJ would work for this particular color combination.

Here is my version of her beautiful card:

Cardstock: Rose Red; Brocade Blue; Night of Navy

Stamps: Vintage Vogue (SU)

Ink: Rose Red; Brocade Blue

Other: Whisper White 5/8″ Satin Ribbon (SU); Night of Navy button (SU) tied with light blue embroidery floss

Moving along….

Color Challenge #4: Only Orange; Ballet Blue

Even though Only Orange is a former Bold Bright and I didn’t purchase the Bold Brights, I seem to have one lonely piece of Only Orange in my possession. So I can do this challenge. I already have my next  CASE picked out.

My next CASE was from Cindy’s Creative Crafts blog. Cindy’s got a great blog. She seems to like altered items, such as tins, bottles, composition books, etc. I don’t do alot of this, so I spent quite a few minutes on her blog admiring all her creations. It took me awhile to find her cards, but I did find this beautiful butterfly card. Cindy made her card with more subdued colors, so I wondered what adding some crazy orange would do. Would this wacky color scheme make it as great?

Turns out, the card does continue to look great with the orange! Here is my dedicated assistant, Stripes, showing off the card (what can I say, he was occupying the chair).

Cardstock: Only Orange; Ballet Blue; Whisper White

Stamps: Vintage Labels (SU)

Ink: Ballet Blue; Pumpkin Pie

Other: DSP from Sweet Pea (SU); Whisper White 5/8″ Satin Ribbon (SU); Stylized Flowers CB Folder; Beautiful Wings Embosslits Die; Rhinestones

Color Challenge #5: Black and White

Black and white. How much fun is that? I started off to the galleries looking for a card to CASE, but then I decided that it was time for me to exercise some independent thought in my work.

I’ve seen a few black and white cards in the galleries and they always look so elegant. Many of them are geared towards wedding cards, since it happens to be an elegant occasion. Last time I needed a wedding card, I was scrambling for ideas. Since then, I’ve purchased SU’s Blissful Bride set, but haven’t had occasion to use it thus far. What a perfect time to dig it out and start experimenting.

As lovely as this card turned out, it gave me nothing but headaches along the way. First of all, black ink and my fingers do not get along. Somehow, it’s the only ink that seems to smudge and get all over the place, which I then smear all over my work. It took me two attempts to get the border along the bottom stamped and even then, I had to use strategic placement of my sentiment to cover a couple of little smudges (I wasn’t doing it a third time!).

Then, the image I wanted to use was too big to fit in the space allocated.

Okay, plan B.

The wedding cake image actually turned out great. While I was stamping, I decided that Blissful Bride stamp set should go beautifully with Blushing Bride ink, so the small flowers were colored to give it just a hint of color. Then I added silver rhinestone to the cake and the sentiment to complete the card.

The only thing I”m not happy with is the embossing on the sentiment. I’m still having trouble perfecting my embossing technique. No matter what I seem to do, how much patience I attempt to utlize, I seem to get embossing powder EVERY where. Although I’m not completely upset with the embossing, I wish I could get it just a tad crisper. Ah well, practice makes perfect.

Cardstock: Whisper White; Basic Black

Stamps: Blissful Bride

Ink: Basic Black; Blushing Bride (marker accents)

Other: DSP – Brand Unknown; Rhinestones

What a productive night! That’s five challenge down, which means only 284 left to go (eep!) I think I’m done for tonight, but I’m pretty sure you’ll see me again soon. For now, happy stamping everyone!

Leave a Reply

