My Own Color Challenge(s)

For those who stamp, you’ll know that Stampin Up completed a Color Revolution this year and revamped all their color families. The result was that a number of colors were retired, some old “in color” colors came back, plus some new colors were added.

In my opinion, the color revolution was great! I love the new colors (daffodil delight, marina mist, cherry cobbler) and being new to stamping there are some great in colors that I’ve never used before (wild wasabi, pacific point) and a few in colors from last year that I was VERY happy to have stick around (rich razzleberry, melon mambo).

However…

My father’s Scottish roots have apparently made their way into my genetic makeup. I’m too cheap to waste good paper, so I promised myself I was going to use up my retired stuff before I started experimenting with all the new colors (which I’ve already bought and have waiting on my craft shelf). Unfortunately, all those new colors look so much more exciting than the OLD colors and I’ve found myself in a bit of a craft funk, torn between the delightful new color options and using up the old stuff.

My solution? Time to create my own personal color challenges.

I’ve decided to hunt down some old color combination challenges (in this case, the Tuesday color challenges on Split Coast Stampers) and work my way through them, starting at number one. There will be some that I’ll have to skip, since I might start running out of colors. But I’m hoping I can work my way through some cards and some great combinations along the way.

If you’re like me, wondering what to do with your old paper, then you’re welcome to play along with me. Feel free to start your own list or use the challenges I’ll post here. Post a comment with a link to your card and I’ll stop by and admire it.

If you’re looking for the challenge list I’ll be using, you can find it here on SCS.  I’ll be starting with challenge number one.

Ready? Set, go.

Leave a Reply

