Jade’s “Use it Up” Color Challenge #1 & #2

As I mentioned in my previous post, I’ve decided to use up my retired paper by working my way through the Split Coast Stampers Tuesday Color Combination Challenge list. SCS is currently on Color Combination challenge #289, so if I’m going to make my way through them (and catch up to where they are), I better get started. Who knows how fast I’m going to be making these cards.

Alright, here we go.

Color Combination #1: Green Galore, Garden Green

Well, look at that! I’m already on combination #2 and I haven’t even lifted my tape gun. Let me explain, Green Galore and Gable Green are both from the old Bold Brights family, which I did not purchase. So I do not have these colors in my inventory. I suppose you could substitute, as challenges often suggest, but I’ve got 289 challenges to go and the point is to use up my inventory, so I’m not too concerned if I skip a few here and there.

If you have these colors, I’d love to see what you do with them. I imagine they’d make a pretty good Christmas card, if you’re thinking ahead.

If you’re like me and don’t have these colors, let’s move on.

Color Combination #2: Ruby Red, Barely Banana, Not Quite Navy

Fun! I happen to have all three of these colors.

Sometimes the creative neurons just aren’t firing as efficiently as I’d like them to. Today I need a little more inspiration in the help of a sketch or CASE. Then I had the brilliant idea to CASE cards from members of the blog group I’ve just joined on SCS. The creator of the blog group is a SCS member named Rollyfan. So her gallery is first on my CASE list.

I found this pretty card in rollyfan’s gallery. I like the simplicity of the layout, but the colors also caught my attention. Of course, I’m working with different colors, but I think my color combination is similar, with the dark blue, the light yellow and the nicely contrasting red color.

Next step was to find an image that would suit the card. My first instinct was to reach for my butterfly stamp, which love to use. But then I decided to use my Take Three set, which I tend to neglect now and then. The chose to work with the fall “thank you” image from this set.

I ran into a bit of a problem finding DSP to match this color combination, which is a key part of rollyfan’s card. Hmmmm. Time to be creative, I guess. Taking inspiration from my chosen stamp, I decided to cut leaves from the Ruby Red and apply them to the Night of Navy to make my own kind of patterned paper. I decided that both the leaves and the card needed a little texture, so I used my “Weathered” background stamp to apply a little texture, using tone on tone colors.

Finally, I taped it all together and ended up with this pretty fall Thank You.

Now, I’m sure you’ll notice two things about this card.

First of all, I placed the “DSP” a little higher than rollyfan’s card. This is because I find it difficult to get a good stamp with the Weathered background. There were a few places at the top of the card that didn’t quite apply to the card properly, so I just covered it up by repositioning the band. I think it still looks great.

Second, it’s only color challenge #2 and I’ve already screwed it up! I was supposed to use Not Quite Navy, not Night of Navy. DOH!!! It doesn’t matter. The colors are similar and either way, I’m happy with the card.

Cardstock: Barely Banana; Ruby Red; Night of Navy

Stamp: Take Three

Inks Used: Barely Banana; Ruby Red; Night of Navy

Leave a Reply

