Card Gift Box

Hello again.

In my last post I mentioned that I was working on a set of cards for my mother-in-law. Here are pictures of it and some of the cards inside.

I found the box at Micheals. It is supposed to be a recipe box, but fits the A2 5.5 inch x 4.25 inch cards perfectly. The new boxes they have are Paula Dean boxes and have a cute little silver latch. I really love these boxes. Might have to stock up while I can (although catching a great sale is also very tempting). I fit 15 cards plus envelopes in one box. You might be able to fit a few more if you wanted to, depending on the number of layers on your cards, but 15 worked for me.

The boxes come with dividers, but they’re recipe ones, so I made my own. One set of six dividers can be made from a 12×12 sheet of paper. I used a heavy weight DSP and used my scallop oval punch and oval punch to make tabs for them, writing the categories down by hand with pen. For this box, the categories I had were: Birthday, Thank You, Congratulations, Sympathy, Other and Envelopes.

Here is a sampling of my favorite cards that ended up in this box.

Birthday Cards: On the left uses Stampin Up’s Medallion stamp. The card on the left uses Stampin Up’s Golden Oldies set, but I replaced the sentiment with a new stamp I bought from Penny Black recently. This is by far my favorite card I’ve made with this set so far.

Thank You Cards: Both of these are “copies” from other stampers. The one on the left was a card I saw in the SCS galleries. The person there had done the card in red and pink tones. I changed it to blue and yellow. I still love the design just as much as I did hers, but I think her colors might have been a bit better. I’ll have to play with it a bit.

The card on the right was originally done by Tess at her card buffet. Such a simple design that looked great when contrasting the bright in-colors from last year with the black cardstock. Instead of two neutrals (white and black) of the original, I tried using two bold in-colors, Bermuda Bay and Crushed Curry. I rather like the result.

I also did a “You’re Fabulous” card for my thank you category. Again, this card was inspired by a card on SCS. In her case, I love the color scheme so much that I kept it the same, but used my fun Bubble Queen set.

Congratulations: I think the card on the left might be my favorite in the whole box. Once again, I was inspired from someone on SCS (I was using the SCS galleries quite a bit that night). I loved the way she did her ribbon and she mentioned using a brad she had purchased that she love the look of. Similarly, I have purchased brads I love, but have no idea how to use them! This ribbon treatment was perfect. To tell you the truth, it took a bit of manovering to get the ribbon and brad lined up just right, but it certainly paid off. I love this card!

The card on the right is also a fav (and also from an SCS inspiration). This is another stamp set that I don’t use often, so I specifically looked for cards made with the set for ideas. I found this layout and loved the double matting around the main image. Don’t you think it looks great? I also must comment that Stampin Up’s Cottage Wall paper makes some great looking cards!

Sympathy: The final card I have to show you came from my “Sympathy” section. This card was also created from an SCS inspiration and I’m very happy with the result. After the congratulations card I mentioned earlier, this is probably the next favorite card in the box and a layout I’ll definitely try again in different color combinations.

4 responses to “Card Gift Box

  1. Very nice!! I didn’t even notice you changed up the father’s day card like that! You are sneaky at Stamp Club! HEHE! Love the Sympathy card…..BEAUTIFUL!!

  2. I didn’t do it at Stamp Club. Remember someone used a second sheet of paper and we couldn’t figure out why? You were going to throw the “bad” image away and I scooped it instead. This is what I made.

  3. Great idea and pretty cards!

  4. WOW! WOW! WOW! She is a lucky lady! Amazing creations! If I had to pick my favorite…I think it would be the sympathy card. I just like the layout!

Leave a Reply

